Double Chocolate Cake

Still Sunday… and after that delicious lunch (cod with cream from previous post), some friends came over to watch some movies… we saw Elite Squad and Motorcycle Diaries. To me there is nothing better then staying at home and watch a movie on a rainy Sunday. And since we had guests, I decided to bake something that would please everybody, and chocolate cake came straight to my mind. Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of chocolate cake, but I know most people like it… and I eat as well, of course!!! This time I wanted to try something different from the recipes I had already made. This cake was inspired in a cake from the Good Food magazine August/2010. You can find the original recipe here.

I used plain flour and added a little bit more of baking powder to compensate. I also didn’t have almonds, but had walnuts instead and that’s what I used. If you don’t like very sweet cakes, this is the right cake for you. Serve with vanilla icecream. And you know what? This cake was even better the day after.

Double Chocolate Cake

Ingredients

  • 175g softened butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 140g self-raising flour
  • 85g ground almonds
  • ½ tsp of baking powder
  • 100ml milk
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 50g plain chocolate chips (or chop a chocolate bar)

Frosting

  • 75g of dark chocolate (I used 74%)
  • 1/3 cup of caster sugar
  • 1/2 tsp of water
  • 1/4 cup of double cream

Preparation

  1. Heat oven to 160C/140C fan. Grease a cake tin with butter. I used one of those with a hole in the middle.
  2. To make the cake batter, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, flour, almonds, baking powder, milk and cocoa until smooth. Stir in the chocolate chips, then scrape into the tin. Bake for 45-50 mins until golden, risen and a skewer poked in the centre comes out clean.
  3. For the frosting, in a saucepan mix the sugar and water and heat until the sugar is melted and you get a glaze. Take of the heat and add the chopped chocolate, mixing until the chocolate melts. Add the double cream and mix well. Spread on the top of the cake.
Leave a Reply

