Mamma’s Flan

Since I spent the month of December on vacation in Brazil, I didn’t cook too much. Why would I when I had my mom, aunties, and mother in law cooking for me, right? That also explains my disappearance from the blog. However, this flan was one of the few things I made, but the credits actually have to go to my mom, because I was just following her lead. She makes this flan since forever and my grandma used to make it too and, although it doesn’t have anything special (not even condensed milk), it’s my dad’s favourite dessert. Give it a try!

Mamma’s Flan

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 6 heaped tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 3 heaped tablespoons plain flour
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • zest of one lime
  • drops vanilla extract (optional)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar (for the caramel)

Preparation

  1. Add 3/4 cup of granulated sugar to an angel cake tin, take to a medium heat until completely dissolved, then boil for a little while until you get a golden caramel. Don’t burn it! Take out of the heat and spread the caramel all over the tin (sides and tube).
  2. Beat all the remaining ingredients in a blender until well combined. Pour into the caramelized tin and cook in a water bath for about 1 hour or until the flan is cooked.
  3. Let it cool and then unmold it in a large plate, not so shallow because of the caramel sauce. Refrigerate for a while and then it’s ready to serve.
Leave a Reply

