Orange Cake

Many of you might know that I’m not a big fan of orange juice, although I was born in the orange land. My loved mom says that she got sick when she pregnant of me because of an orange juice she had at my grandma’s… and the funny thing is that I feel sick too if I drink orange juice? Coincidence or not, I just avoid orange juice. However, I really like orange cake, and this one had to appear on the blog, not only because it’s extremely easy to make, but also for being so flavourful.

This cake takes only one orange and you use the whole thing, what makes the flavour very intense. It’s great for breakfast or to go with a cup of tea in the afternoon.

Orange Cake

Ingredients

  • 1 whole orange
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup oil (I used sunflower)
  • 2 cups (400g) caster sugar
  • 2 cups (250g) plain flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder

Preparation

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C.
  2. Cut the orange into four parts and remove the white core and any seed.
  3. In a blender, blend the orange, oil, eggs and sugar until you get a very smooth mixture.
  4. Pour this mixture into a bow and fold the flour and baking powder, but do not overmix.
  5. Pour the batter into an angel cake pan (24cm), buttered and sprinkled with flour, and bake for approximately 40 minutes or until the cake is cooked all the way through.

Note: If you want, you can make a glaze with orange juice and sugar and pour on the top of the cake after baked. I like it plain without the glaze.

Leave a Reply

